#RPGaDay2018 Day27 Value of Actual Play

Share a great stream / actual play My video has a #RPGDeepDive (rant) that I think stays positive: Summary of video: Initially I wasn’t going to answer this question, in part because I’m not a regular watcher of any Actual Plays. More importantly I assumed numerous people will be posting all sorts of interesting and … Continue reading “#RPGaDay2018 Day27 Value of Actual Play”

Share a great stream / actual play

My video has a #RPGDeepDive (rant) that I think stays positive:


Summary of video: Initially I wasn’t going to answer this question, in part because I’m not a regular watcher of any Actual Plays. More importantly I assumed numerous people will be posting all sorts of interesting and obscure links, I’d have little to add in comparison. Additionally this subject is a touchy one with some players; unsurprisingly I have seen quite a few negative comments today. With this event being positive I didn’t want to feel compelled to do a #RPGDeepDive in which I’d be inclined to address negative things. Thankfully the RPGaDay positivity has won through for me, several good comments got me thinking, plus I decided something like this opening meant I was not ignoring the complexity of this subject 😉 (I’ve read a lot of posts and watched a lot of videos). Actual Play + Streams add to the hobby they don’t reduce or remove anything. Yes some people may have a narrow view, this was true of the RPG hobby previously with some anyway, also the hobby is not in threat like it was in the 80s.

Over the years I’ve thought about doing an Actual Play. My main group are not up for being recorded, I don’t have a decent setup, equipment, etc. Since over the years I generally play face-to-face at tabletop or LARP, or Play-by-Mail (also email), I’ve not needed to video anything. For my games there are generally detailed notes of the main events in the game, typically individual PC actions have private notes, so decades ago one of the players started making audio recordings of the sessions to help with group notes. Sadly we don’t keep any of the recordings. I’ve sat on a few ideas about an Actual Play for PBM, one day I’ll do that 😉

Runeslinger

ivanmike1968

sameøldji

Roberto Micheri

Ede Sol Media

Actual Plays (AP) / Streams

Bluebeard’s Bride by @RuffleJax https://www.twitch.tv/videos/297031373

Happy Jacks RPG The Darknet – GURPS

More AP recommendations in other peoples’ videos.

Author: Batjutsu

Writer, role-player, games master, martial artist, programmer, disabled but not giving up. https://dice.camp/@batjutsu https://bsky.app/profile/batjutsu.bsky.social https://twitter.com/Batjutsu

Leave a comment