The Bestseller Reality

This post continues on from my last blog about the launch of the Bestseller Experiment of their Back to Reality book. The book successfully became a best seller, gaining the special orange tag on Amazon!

During the livestreams on launch day there was discussion about what is next for the two Marks. One of the authors I follow is Gavin G Smith, who introduced me to the podcast, and he suggested making the future of the podcast about winning a Man Booker Prize for Fiction! Given the success of both the podcast and the book, it does not sound ridiculous to suggest such a goal.

I found the book launch on Monday to be quite captivating; I joined in two livestreams and watched the other two after they were broadcast. I admit that a few months ago I was not certain that the experiment would be a success. With the final week’s daily podcasts, plus the frenetic activity by the beta readers (Experimentalists), the momentum for the launch convinced me that they’d succeed. It was great to see Neil Gaiman tweeting about the book, followed by this funny moment:

So many great writers were involved in the podcast, and I plan on going through the summary in their epic PDF Vault of Gold again soon. Given then typical busy lives of writers, and the many demands for their attention, it is understandable that some of my favourites, like Mr Gaiman, were not able to join in; another reason to keep the podcast going, even more epic guests!

As normal this week chronic pain has interfered with my sleep, but at least my mood is high, in part due to channelling the success of the two Marks in to my own writing this week. I am working on the Gingerbread competition that was announced on the Bestseller podcast; I am currently writing two different stories, since I really wanted to write both. The wife and I’ve nearly finished our caterpillar cake:

Back To Reality Bat

You can keep up to date with what happens next with the Bestseller Experiment at their website.

The Bestseller Experiment Mark Stay Mark Oliver (Desvaux)

 

Author: Batjutsu

Writer, role-player, games master, martial artist, programmer, disabled but not giving up.

Leave a Reply

