#RPGaDay 02

If you are not familiar with #RPGaDay, then please read this page first.

For the 2nd day of #RPGaDay the question is:

What is an RPG you would like to see published?

The easy but silly answer is: my own work. Since I still have a lot of work to do, including programming, I feel that answer would be too pitiful. So I started pondering one of the many currently existing intellectual properties (IP).

Since there are so many IP possibilities I decided to read a few tweets, to check out the answers other people were giving. I was not worried about choosing a right or wrong answer for such a subjective query, I was just intrigued. Plus it’s not a case of A or B, after all many of the suggestions could become a fully licensed published RPG.

Given the multitude of game systems, I am not fussed about a setting needing its own dedicated system. Whilst I very much appreciate the influence of a system on its game, like any veteran group, house rules and preference are always the deciding factor. Personally I’d be inclined to use GURPS or Storyteller for most things, especially GURPS since it has a rich history of IP tie-ins.

I nearly went with Joe Abercrombie’s series The First Law. If you are not familiar then think a grim setting with rare but powerful magic, a bit like Conan at times, but with the politics and character depth more like Game of Thrones. Avoiding spoilers, the build up to some epic deadly magic was impressive, and the impact on characters was impressive! Characters merely armed with a determined fatalism and a simple weapon affecting major plots. Maybe base a campaign around tracking down rare magic to achieve some epic plan, which of course will likely kill them. Definitely check the books out, even if ‘dark grim’ is not a setting you are normally in to. I am currently running an epic level magic setting, hence me thinking of something different.

The Culture series is a science fiction series written by Iain M. Banks.

The Culture is a utopian, post-scarcity space communist society of humanoids, aliens, and very advanced artificial intelligence.

The setting has so much scope, from covert missions on primitive worlds, to galactic scale wars using dimensional weapons. It is probably the only alternate universe I’d like to live in. This morning I read a Goodreads by Charles Stross giving this response about living in a fictional setting. Stross’s wonderful Laundry Files series is definitely something to read, but not to live in; the Laundry Files already has RPG books.

Other cool settings I’d like are: a Stephen King-Verse, Mass Effect, Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency, etc. I would smile at seeing anyone of those games published, but I would be most impressed if the setting of Harry Potter was announced! So in the end I tweeted:

Since the Potterverse is one of the biggest book series of all time, an RPG would have the incredible potential to hook a massive amount of role-players, a gateway-RPG. Whilst I doubt it would dwarf D&D, I wouldn’t be surprised if within a few years it was the 2nd biggest RPG.

Trying to hook non-role-players has been attempted before, I don’t know of any that has the potential of a Potterverse. Even if 1% of 1% give it a try, that’s a lot of new RPers! An honourable mention of the old White Wolf idea attempt by releasing Street Fighter to hook video gamers. Street Fighter was a gloriously strange entity, in comparison Potterverse would be easy to adapt, and very easy to market. I’ve written about Street Fighter RPG here.

From the same Twitter link as above, a Rick and Morty RPG would be great. GURPS Casey & Andy exists. Rick and Morty is certainly a big deal, and fits the GURPS multi-world settings.

Some more #RPGaDay suggestions at Enworld

 

Author: Batjutsu

Writer, role-player, games master, martial artist, programmer, disabled but not giving up.

Leave a Reply

