40th Birthday

I recently celebrated my 40th birthday, which despite the chronic pain was still an enjoyable day, and it’s nice to write about something positive. I do not put any particular emphasis on specific days, since I try to treat every day as special, but I appreciate that some days are more special than others. I had a small family get-together; we enjoyed a tasty collection of Chinese food and a bit of cake. Technically this had been my breakfast since I had been up the previous night and slept most of the day, as once again my sleep cycle was out of sync.

Whilst I don’t expect presents from friends or family I do very much appreciate gifts. Although I am not much of an alcohol drink normally I have recently been using it for medicinal reasons, roughly one or two units a day, so it was nice to receive several different drinks. The wife bought me an amusing present, a collection of treats in a bin; I have mentioned needing a small bin for my new room. The nice secondary joke being that a large collection of sweets is rubbish for my diet, but at least I’m generally good at rationing out treats.

I have been contemplating upgrading my PC for a few years, and have received money towards this. Thankfully I have a powerful enough PC, and I have not needed to upgrade my CPU, memory, or motherboard for years. As the requirements for high-end PC games have lessened over the last few years, in part due to so many games being made for consoles, the hasn’t been a need to upgrade; yes there are games that demand more resources but I don’t particularly care about playing Crysis in maximum specs. Due to resting and avoiding computer use I don’t particularly need a more powerful system, but speech recognition software like Dragon NaturallySpeaking does benefit from having more system resources, so have recently been looking at a more powerful system.

To PC or not to PC.

About a year ago I had been contemplating having a big celebration; my sister had one when she turned forty, and that was a fun evening. I had pondered the idea of asking to use the ITC gym (Sukata), since a lot of the people I would have been inviting train martial arts there, in particular Brazilian jiu-jitsu (BJJ). Although I was not one of the club superstars, I do like to think that when I was healthier I was a good training partner, which is an invaluable asset for the more talented, healthier and dedicated practitioners. Hopefully I will be back training and healthy for my 41st birthday, and if so I can have a large party then.

Although I have read dismissive comments about how irrelevant or pathetic a Facebook or email message saying “Happy Birthday” is, I disagree. Even a short message takes time and effort for somebody to do, and whilst it is possible to set up a script to automate sending emails to people on the birthday, it is not something that the general person would do. This is why I appreciate the effort.

This blog post nearly ended up being about the placebo effect, but I decided to separate that information for a future post. In the end was more a collection of thoughts about how my life is not all bad.

This was written (dictated to) listening to the splendid new track by Leslie Wai, a cover of Modern Love but with some great tweaks. He is the wizard behind the Kaizo Trap music. I have blogged about Kaizo Trap before, and I wrote an article for NoobGrind about it.

Author: Batjutsu

Writer, role-player, games master, martial artist, programmer, disabled but not giving up.

Leave a Reply

